Six Years

He had always been the sand beneath my feet, inhaling his happiness I’d say goodbye and leave footprints of my soul on his cheek. 
…he’d turn and they would waft away. 

It was as though the closer I came near, the further his presence became. I sought love from a distance, because all my body craved was the warmth of existence. A brighter sun ray to the blue spirits in place.

Little did I know I was fornicating with serenity, in an unwonted sense of disquietude that demoralised my mornings with infatuated decay. 

***

But in reality, I was just sat still by the ocean, watching the sunrise and fall each day. 

Leave a Reply

